Did some Studer work today. Nothing major, but trying to get stuff out of the way as far as the spinning motor.

I didn’t mention it before, but a few ICs on the logic board have this really weird coating/oxidation. It didn’t come off easily with alcohol or DeoxIT, and I’m not even sure it was oxidation, but my French friend who’s a Studer wiz suggested to get a fiberglass pen to remove this stuff. It totally worked! Here are two chips next to each other, one before I cleaned it with this pen, and one after:

IMG_20151210_232338

The lighting in this picture is bad, but you can tell the difference.

I cleaned the legs off with alcohol, and got a few drops of DeoxIT in the sockets and moved the ICs in the sockets. That should take care of any oxidation.

I also replaced the stop button’s bulb, not that it makes any difference, but I thought I’d follow up on it.

Anyway, turn on the machine and the takeup motor is spinning out of control again. The stop button doesn’t light up and that is really grinding my gears. It seems like the right voltage is feeding into it (~27V).  I don’t know if this is related to the motor spinning. I’m pretty sure the stop button was lighting up before. Haven’t tried a different bulb yet.

Leave a Reply

